The Vision of the Department is to be a leader in the field of Mechanical Engineering by imparting quality education and keeping pace with ever changing technologies .


i) The mission of the department is to impart sufficient knowledge and skill in the field of Mechanical Engineering .

ii) Our mission is to produce professionally competent Diploma Engineers in the field of Mechanical Engineering.

iii) Our department is committed to provide hands-on experiences in a congenial environment.


In 1920, late Bholanath Baruah, a leading citizen of Assam, a timber merchant by Profession, from his long experiences in different fields strongly felt the need of a technical school in Assam. In his opinion, without technical education, development of a state could not be possible. He thought of establishing such an institute at Jorhat because Jorhat was the central position of Assam and further surrounded by a number of tea gardens. With this view, he came forward and donated rupees one lakh for the establishment of the institute and thereby opened one trust to guide and look after the affairs. This amount was deposited to the then Government of Assam with a view to have a prompt action from the Govt. And he expected to commemorate the visit of the then Prince of Wales of UK in the month of November 1921. Mr. Baruah's idea came into reality and got positive response from the Govt. and finally in 1927, the Institute was established in the name of "His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales Technical school" and later on in 1946 it was renamed as " His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales Institute of Engineering & Technology". The Institute is located at the heart of Jorhat town which is 0.5 km from Jorhat town railway station and 5 km from Rowriah airport.

At the very beginning, a certificate course on Mechanic was started in the technical school to cater the technical manpower need of the state especially for Assam PWD department and oil industry. Later on the Mechanic trade was renamed as Higher Motor Mechanic (HMM). In 1948, the certificate course was converted to 4-year Diploma course in Mechanical- Automobile Engineering and with one year compulsory practical training again in the year 1957, the four year Diploma course was introduced in Mechanical Engineering.

The intake capacity of Mechanical department was 35 at the start of the course. Intake capacity was increased to 40 from 2008.

Courses offered:-

3-year Diploma in Mechanical Engineering.

Details of laboratory:-

i. Engineering Mechanics Laboratory

ii. Material Testing Laboratory

iii. Theory of Machine Laboratory

iv. Refrigeration & Air conditioning Laboratory

v. Computer Laboratory

vi. Heat power Engineering Laboratory

vii. CNC Laboratory


1. Mr. Dhanjit Sarma, HOD

2. Mr. M.L. Teli, Lecturer (SG)

3. Mr. Montu Hazarika, Lecturer (SG)

4. Mrs. Dulurani Mazumdar, Lecturer (SG)

5. Dr. Gautam Borthakur, Lecturer (SG)

6. Mr. Jitumoni Deka, Lecturer (SG)

7. Mr. Pranab Prakash Khound, Lecturer(SG)

8. Mr. Bipul Dutta, Lecturer

9. Mr. Biralal Doley, Lecturer

10. Mr. Tayab Ali, Lecturer

11. Ms. Suni Pegu, Lecturer

Faculity Details:

Mr. Dhanjit Sarma

Mr. M.L. Teli

Mr. Montu Hazarika

Mrs. Dulurani Mazumdar

Dr. Gautam Borthakur

Mr. Jitumoni Deka

Mr. Pranab Prakash Khound

Mr. Bipul Dutta

Mr. Biralal Doley

Mr. Tayab Ali

Ms. Suni Pegu

Home         |      Admission         |         Departments         |       Facilities          |       Alumni           |        People          |      News          |       Download          |         Photo Gallery

H.R.H. The POWIET,Garali,Jorhat,Assam-785001[Copyright(c) POWIET 2011] | All right reserved | Powered by Novelties,Jorhat